Diesel Cure Fuel additive, for 4.2d?
Posted: 27 Sep 2017 12:17
Hi guys,
I've had my 4.2d (Jasper) for 9 months now. Since it is an old motor, designed to run on 500ppm diesel, I have followed the advice I got to add some 2stroke oil (250ml on 80l tank) every time I fill up with 50ppm diesel, to help with the lubrication. By now I know where to find 500ppm in my area!
Today my Wurth rep came to see me, and asked about the 3 cans of Diesel Cure (their product) that have been sitting on my shelf since 2011. That opened the discussion regarding my choice of "additive". He agreed that the 2 stroke would sort out the lubrication requirement, but reckoned that in time sludge could build up because of it, potentially blocking injectors or packing on in fuel pump. Also, nothing would protect the engine components against stuff like "skelm" added water/paraffin or impurities that settle at the bottom of bulk fuel tanks.
In come his product... (now remember this is a good rep!) Diesel Cure will attach itself to the water or paraffin and protect your components against the damage it could cause. Also, it will provide the lubrication required in our case with the older motors. And it throws in a mould and rust inhibitor.
Some testimonials in our area suggest better fuel consumption even (on tractors and trucks), and less smoke on bakkies.
I have decided to give it a go on the farm, for 3 reasons:
1) I have a rather mixed bunch of engines to think of - ranging from the early 1970's to very current. All these have now been running on 50ppm for at least 5 years - catering for the much more expensive common rail technology. Sometimes we get even higher grades (up to 15ppm), which sounds nice, but how little lubrication is in that!?.
2) Impurities remain a worry. After having to do a tractor's injectors a few years ago, I installed extra filters in my bulk storage facilities, as well as on my diesel carts. This is a next step.
3) It would also help reduce the damage with possible sabotage.
I will add the Diesel Cure in bulk to the 50ppm, 1cc/1l fuel (1/1000). Cost = 22-27c/l.
So, it is expensive, but so are engine components.
Plan is to have a small can in my Patrol, to add to 50ppm in stead of the 2 stroke oil. Please share your opinion.
Lekker ry!
Christoph
I've had my 4.2d (Jasper) for 9 months now. Since it is an old motor, designed to run on 500ppm diesel, I have followed the advice I got to add some 2stroke oil (250ml on 80l tank) every time I fill up with 50ppm diesel, to help with the lubrication. By now I know where to find 500ppm in my area!
Today my Wurth rep came to see me, and asked about the 3 cans of Diesel Cure (their product) that have been sitting on my shelf since 2011. That opened the discussion regarding my choice of "additive". He agreed that the 2 stroke would sort out the lubrication requirement, but reckoned that in time sludge could build up because of it, potentially blocking injectors or packing on in fuel pump. Also, nothing would protect the engine components against stuff like "skelm" added water/paraffin or impurities that settle at the bottom of bulk fuel tanks.
In come his product... (now remember this is a good rep!) Diesel Cure will attach itself to the water or paraffin and protect your components against the damage it could cause. Also, it will provide the lubrication required in our case with the older motors. And it throws in a mould and rust inhibitor.
Some testimonials in our area suggest better fuel consumption even (on tractors and trucks), and less smoke on bakkies.
I have decided to give it a go on the farm, for 3 reasons:
1) I have a rather mixed bunch of engines to think of - ranging from the early 1970's to very current. All these have now been running on 50ppm for at least 5 years - catering for the much more expensive common rail technology. Sometimes we get even higher grades (up to 15ppm), which sounds nice, but how little lubrication is in that!?.
2) Impurities remain a worry. After having to do a tractor's injectors a few years ago, I installed extra filters in my bulk storage facilities, as well as on my diesel carts. This is a next step.
3) It would also help reduce the damage with possible sabotage.
I will add the Diesel Cure in bulk to the 50ppm, 1cc/1l fuel (1/1000). Cost = 22-27c/l.
So, it is expensive, but so are engine components.
Plan is to have a small can in my Patrol, to add to 50ppm in stead of the 2 stroke oil. Please share your opinion.
Lekker ry!
Christoph