by JoseM
Re: TB45 from Panama CA
Posted: 12 May 2011 08:03
by XenoBlitz
Holy ~@~ Batman! That is extreme.

Posted: 12 May 2011 08:39
by Peter Connan
Jose it is time to improve your African education.
In South Africa, there are two expressions that can be used to express this situation. When you get stuck the first or perhaps the second time, you say "Blikskottel". This is primarily an Afrikaans expression, but will be fully understood by all citizens.
Finally, when you are almost ready to give up, you say "Eish". This is a truly multilingual expression, understood by anybody who has been in SA for more than two days.
If I may ask, in what area did this occur? I once read in a book about an expedition by the British Army in the early 70's where they drove some Range Rovers from Canada to tierra del Fuego, but in Panama in an area called the Darrien Gap it took them a few days to travel 50km. They had to import a SWB landy to help find a route and they built many bridges. And repaired hundreds of punctures.
Regards
PC
Posted: 12 May 2011 08:54
by G-MAN
"Eish"

Posted: 12 May 2011 12:21
by Kagiso II
no no no G-man - dont teach Josè wrong the word to go with

is "!Nxa" and the smily for "Eishhh" =

or

or
Blikskottel is fine - but i prefer the shorter version of "Hotellikalnifornidja"
(P'ter - onthou oompie hom ommi kampvuur vertel daar op RDW...
Jose - THANX many millions for those picts - just goes to show what PATROL and a competent team can achieve -- BRAVO !!!

Posted: 12 May 2011 20:14
by G-MAN
Oom het vergeet om te se" and moerse wheels"

Posted: 12 May 2011 22:51
by Kagiso II
'S true - and we left BAKGAT out, too. [in my hometown they still use "Spiff, ek sê"

Posted: 14 May 2011 11:20
by Peter Connan
Come on okes, you must focus. That patrol is""lekker kief ne".