Nickname: ORB
Home Town: Krugersdorp
Current 4x4: Patrol GQ 4.2 ST
Home Language: Afrikaans/English

Kgalagadi Feb 2015

Post by offroadbiker »

So finally got to booking a trip to the Kgalagadi :blonde:

15 Feb - 27 Feb 2015.

Including 2 nighs at Rooiputs and 2 nights at Polentswa to get a bit of the Botswana side in as well.

And to ensure some minor 4x4 will do the Leeuwdril 4x4 trail and the Bitterpan 4x4trail :wink:

It is just going to be a looooooong wait til then :oldtimer:
Dirk
1996 Nissan Patrol 4.2 ST
Tinus lotz
Full Name: Tinus lotz
Nickname: Tinus lotz
Home Town: Centurion
Current 4x4: Nissan patrol 4.8 GRX 2005

Toyota 2.7 legend 35 LWB 4X4
Home Language: Afrikaans

Re: Kgalagadi Feb 2015

Post by Tinus lotz »

Lucky fish....... :surprised:
offroadbiker
Full Name: Dirk de Clerk

Post by offroadbiker »

DDD DDD

And to top it off, made the booking in my dad's name and got 40% of on all acommodation :woo:

Sondag 15 Februarie 2 Rivieren
Maandag 16 Februarie Rooiputs
Dinsdag 17 Februarie Rooiputs
Woensdag 18 Februarie Nossob
Donderdag 19 Februarie Polentswa
Frydag 20 Februarie Polentswa
Saterdag 21 Februarie Nossob
Sondag 22 Februarie Nossob
Maandag 23 Februarie Bitterpan
Dinsdag 24 Februarie Mata Mata
Woensdag 25 Februarie Mata Mata
Donderdag 26 Februarie 2 Rivieren
Frydag 27 Februarie Krugersdorp
Dirk
Peter Connan
Full Name: Peter Connan
Nickname: Piet
Home Town: Kempton Park
Current 4x4: 1996 Patrol 4.5SGL

Post by Peter Connan »

Jy't nie dalk 'n kok en 'n fotograaf nodig nie?

Klink lekker!
Mag ons ons kenniskry met lekkerkry aanhoukry.
JoshJ
Patrolman
Patrolman
Full Name: Joshua Joubert
Nickname: Joshua
Home Town: Centurion, Gauteng
Current 4x4: 94 GQ SGL-D

Post by JoshJ »

Nice :thumbup:

We are spending the first week in desember in kgalagadi. Leeu drill not much of a 4x4 trail. I drove it with my 4l Navara in 2wd. Did not even feel that i might need 4x4 at any stage. Only doing SA side this time. Last time we spend 5 days at rooiputs. Kids didn't think much of our Idea of a vacation in the heat and no swimming pool. :lol:
But I loved the peace and quiet.

Hope you have a good one :thumbup:
Being alive is a Blessing!!

Regards,
Joshua
offroadbiker

Post by offroadbiker »

Peter Connan wrote:Jy't nie dalk 'n kok en 'n fotograaf nodig nie?

Klink lekker!
As ek so na my "boepie" kyk reken ek die kok gedeelte is uitgesort, wat 'n fotograaf betref - ek gebruik sommer die selfoon kamara dis sover my mik en druk kennis strek :confused: .........
Dirk
offroadbiker

Post by offroadbiker »

JoshJ wrote:Nice :thumbup:

We are spending the first week in desember in kgalagadi. Leeu drill not much of a 4x4 trail. I drove it with my 4l Navara in 2wd. Did not even feel that i might need 4x4 at any stage. Only doing SA side this time. Last time we spend 5 days at rooiputs. Kids didn't think much of our Idea of a vacation in the heat and no swimming pool. :lol:
But I loved the peace and quiet.

Hope you have a good one :thumbup:
I did not expect much of a 4x4 trip for this one but thought I must do it, also the reason why I am doing the "4x4" Bitterpan route, seeing that the Sanparks people was so friendly to give me 40% discount on all accomodation I used the discount to pay for the Bitterpan reed hut which usually cost in excess of R1,000 for a night compared to the R220 for camping but was now covered by the 40% so I thought I'd give it a go.

I've got a feeling whe are going to "braai" in the heat but hey hopefully the sights will make up for this :pray:
Dirk
IanT
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Ian Temperley
Nickname: IanT (aka) "The Joker"
Home Town: JHB
Current 4x4: 1995 GQ 4.2 Petrol (Turbo Charged) (Hell Boy)
2008 4.8 GRX Umkombe
Home Language: English

Post by IanT »

Lucky Bugger!! Have you got space on the roof rack for me??? :thumbup: :thumbup:
offroadbiker

Post by offroadbiker »

IanT wrote:Lucky Bugger!! Have you got space on the roof rack for me??? :thumbup: :thumbup:

No, i am a nice guy, the back seat is open :thumbup:
Dirk
JoshJ
Patrolman
Patrolman
Full Name: Joshua Joubert
Nickname: Joshua
Home Town: Centurion, Gauteng
Current 4x4: 94 GQ SGL-D

Post by JoshJ »

Its a must do drive when in the kgalagadi. So enjoy it. :thumbup: i was the only car on the road that day. Lovely drive. thats a huge saving. You are a lucky man.
Yes i am sure we will be braaing in heat. One positive is that as far as I know wildlife doesn't enjoy well done meat :lol: i hope that we will experiance a thunderstorm or 2. And I hope they paid some attention to the recent complaints reported on the campsites. Blocked drains in that heat, you'll overcome of the smell :rolling:
Being alive is a Blessing!!

Regards,
Joshua

Return to “25. Trip/Route Queries”