Recovery Gear & Points

Bullbars, roof racks, suspensions and other accessories relating to vehicle performance
Peter Connan
Full Name: Peter Connan
Nickname: Piet
Home Town: Kempton Park
Current 4x4: 1996 Patrol 4.5SGL
Home Language: Afrikaans

Re: Recovery Gear & Points

Post by Peter Connan »

When I unleashed my front bash plate on you guys, I unwittingly created a considerable problem for a large portion of us. And this is that, with the exception of the lucky guys who drive late-model (let's call them blister-fender) 3lD's and 4.8's, the bash plates interfere with the standard-issue recovery points. Most of us removed the recovery points as a consequance, while one clever gentlemen simply ground a hole in the bash plate to leave the standard hook in place. Furthermore, these same guys have mostly had a bit of a problem attaching the bash plate well enough at the front, because the required chassis holes do not exist on these cars.

I think I may at last have solved both problems, with this:
RECOV1.jpg
RECOV1.jpg (481.65 KiB) Viewed 2359 times
RECOV2.jpg
RECOV2.jpg (518.63 KiB) Viewed 2359 times
These recovery points are 16mm thick, and will wave a yield strength (when they may start bending) of more than 12 Tons on a straight recovery, per point. For a recovery at an angle of 30 degrees, they will easily handle 8 tons of force (again, this is for a single point). Furthermore, they can be strengthened even more for angled recoveries by welding them to the bash plate. They also retain the bash plate much better.

The necessary holes exist in all Y60 and Y61 Patrols before the blister-fender, but only the ones in the right-hand side chassis rail have nuts welded in place. The Y60 chassis is open in front, and it will therefore be easy to insert a plate onto which nuts have been welded, while on the Y61's I think we should drill through the other side of the chassis as well and fit longer bolts with compression tubes.

Cost will be around R600 for a set of two with fitting kit including all the necessary bolts and things.

What do you guys think?
Mag ons ons kenniskry met lekkerkry aanhoukry.
Jorrie
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Jacobus Jordaan
Nickname: Jorrie
Home Town: Pretoria
Current 4x4: 1998 Nissan Patrol 4500 GRX (now in Benji's hands), 2019 Zook Gen 4, 2011 4.8 GRX Patrol Adventure 60
Home Language: English/Afrikaans

Post by Jorrie »

Piet
It looks like a good solution. I would certainly be interested.
For the mean time I have kept the OEM Recovery hook and have a steel strop that fits through one of the larger holes in the bash plate. This should be good for a straight recovery, but probably not for a recovery at an angle
Jorrie
1998 4500 GRX (Benji)
2011 4800 GRX Adventure 60 (Jorrie)
2011 Jimny Sold (Benji)
2 x 2019 Jimnies (1 x Lizzybean69, 1 x Jorrie)
Tinus lotz
Full Name: Tinus lotz
Nickname: Tinus lotz
Home Town: Centurion
Current 4x4: Nissan patrol 4.8 GRX 2005

Toyota 2.7 legend 35 LWB 4X4

Post by Tinus lotz »

Goeie beplanning Piet lyk goed!!!!
Stefaansie
Full Name: Andre Vorster
Nickname: André
Home Town: Benoni
Current 4x4: 1996 SGL-D 4.2 Patrol

Post by Stefaansie »

Bakgat Piet!

Hoe vinnig kan jy vir my een organaais?
It seems Cerdick is not too much impresses with all my excuses :blonde: :blonde:
I want to arrange all my things so that I might be alble to join the up comming Challenge.

Thanks!

Jy kan my maar PM, dan vat ons dit van daar.
'96 SGL-D PATROL (GQ)
ECHO 3
'07 SUZUKI BOULEVARD 1800
'06 YAMAHA 700 RAPTOR
ricster
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Cedric Warner
Nickname: Cedric
Home Town: Alberton Gauteng
Current 4x4: '99 Nissan Patrol 4.2 Turbo Diesel
Home Language: English
Location: LA..... No not Los Angles ..... Lower Alberton, Gauteng

Post by ricster »

haha.. you make me out to be such a dragon.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

but yes it is for the safety of EVERYONE !!!

I'm going to get one too.... Well done Peter !!!
Regards
Cedric
Nissan Patrol GL 4.2 Diesel Turbo (Iron Maiden)
Nissan SANI 3.0 V6 4x4 (SOLD)
Isuzu KB 280 DT 2x4 ('ol Smokey) - SOLD
Suzuki TL 1000R "V twin" (Growler) - SOLD
ChristoSlang
Patrolman
Patrolman
Full Name: Christo van Rensburg
Nickname: ChristoSlang
Home Town: Pretoria, ZA
Current 4x4: Nissan 4.2 GL Patrol

Post by ChristoSlang »

Nice one Peter!

I guess I have no excuses any more? Other than the fact that Chuck's ONCA bull bar may interere with all of the new bits & pieces again? :think:

What do you suggest - shall we pop around for a measurement some time?
Christo (the snake man)
1998 4.2 GL Patrol (Chuck Norris)
2007 350Z twin-turbo coupe (Batmobile)
Stefaansie
Full Name: Andre Vorster
Nickname: André
Home Town: Benoni
Current 4x4: 1996 SGL-D 4.2 Patrol

Post by Stefaansie »

ricster wrote:haha.. you make me out to be such a dragon.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

but yes it is for the safety of EVERYONE !!!

I'm going to get one too.... Well done Peter !!!

Haha, never, Ricster. Just pulling your leg. :rolling: :rolling:

I know I must have one.
'96 SGL-D PATROL (GQ)
ECHO 3
'07 SUZUKI BOULEVARD 1800
'06 YAMAHA 700 RAPTOR
offroadbiker
Full Name: Dirk de Clerk
Nickname: ORB
Home Town: Krugersdorp
Current 4x4: Patrol GQ 4.2 ST
Home Language: Afrikaans/English

Post by offroadbiker »

Dont think I have a choice :naughty: , as long as it is just bolt on and no welding is involved :pray:

How's about Mr C makes a couple of these and we have a "fitment" day where we get together make sure we all fit these correctly and sommer have a braai afterwards - just a lekker social event???
Dirk
1996 Nissan Patrol 4.2 ST
ricster
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Cedric Warner
Nickname: Cedric
Home Town: Alberton Gauteng
Current 4x4: '99 Nissan Patrol 4.2 Turbo Diesel
Home Language: English
Location: LA..... No not Los Angles ..... Lower Alberton, Gauteng

Post by ricster »

Sounds like a plan !!
Regards
Cedric
Nissan Patrol GL 4.2 Diesel Turbo (Iron Maiden)
Nissan SANI 3.0 V6 4x4 (SOLD)
Isuzu KB 280 DT 2x4 ('ol Smokey) - SOLD
Suzuki TL 1000R "V twin" (Growler) - SOLD
Tinus lotz
Full Name: Tinus lotz
Nickname: Tinus lotz
Home Town: Centurion
Current 4x4: Nissan patrol 4.8 GRX 2005

Toyota 2.7 legend 35 LWB 4X4

Post by Tinus lotz »

offroadbiker wrote:Dont think I have a choice :naughty: , as long as it is just bolt on and no welding is involved :pray:

How's about Mr C makes a couple of these and we have a "fitment" day where we get together make sure we all fit these correctly and sommer have a braai afterwards - just a lekker social event???
Dirk ek dink jy sien nog steeds sterrietjies na jou laaste bash plate fitting!??
:rolling: :rolling: ek trek jou been!!!dis n great plan ons kan fit en jy kan braai!!!! :thumbup:

Return to “18. Vehicle Accessories”