Page 1 of 1

Insane Patrol

Posted: 27 Jul 2013 10:23
by karel.s
Die projekkie vorder darem nou so stadig...
Die Micky Thompson 35x12,5x15's lyk sommer klein met die 6" lift
Photo0017.jpg (367.01 KiB) Viewed 6161 times
Kyk hoe klein lyk n man van oor die 6 voet nou.
Patrol lift.jpg (738.06 KiB) Viewed 6161 times
V8 Lexus ingepas..
Lexus V8 install 2.jpg (272.97 KiB) Viewed 6161 times
Amper daar...
Photo0016.jpg (350.55 KiB) Viewed 6161 times
:blonde:

Re: Insane Patrol

Posted: 27 Jul 2013 11:01
by Theuhan
Karel

Hy lyk great, watter Lexus is daai?

Posted: 27 Jul 2013 11:20
by Tinus lotz
Mooi man ons hou dop.....gooi die prentjies

Posted: 27 Jul 2013 15:54
by Clem
What is the advantage of the Lexus V8 over the 4.8?

Posted: 27 Jul 2013 17:23
by Tinus lotz
Clem wrote:What is the advantage of the Lexus V8 over the 4.8?
I think is a cheap engine that works well and is a 10th of the price of a 4.8

Posted: 27 Jul 2013 21:20
by Alex Roux
Cheap yes. But so very very strong and tough.
You can super charge it and turbo charge it al you like. It does not seem to crack that easily.
Thats way all the Mercedes Sprinter busses gets them too.
The turbo diesels in the Taxis, poorly maintained, eventually break.
Put a Lexus in and they go on for almost ever.

The torque on the Lexus is very smooth and gradually climbs on higher revs.
BUT on lower revs it is too low. And can pull dead easily. (trek dood)
(Which is why I would still consider a super charger at some point)
I must admit I found the Lexus a bliksem on Koos se Kim last week.
Torque is too low at 1000 revs. Then I push the fuel pedal in slightly, but all too easily it can be too much power too soon with the Lexus.
So the line between too little and too much power can become very thin, if you need to drive a steep ascent slowly.

On sand it is so much easier, You just put foot flat down in second low range and off you go. Then the Lexus rocks.
But on a rock like Koos se klim, it takes finesse. I think the 4.8's torque at lower revs would have made it a much easier climb.

Posted: 27 Jul 2013 21:23
by Alex Roux
Karel

Are you wheel arches not too small or the 35" tyres?

Posted: 05 Oct 2013 08:44
by karel.s
Theuhan wrote:Karel

Hy lyk great, watter Lexus is daai?
Dit is die LS400 VVTI

Posted: 05 Oct 2013 08:45
by karel.s
Alex Roux wrote:Karel

Are you wheel arches not too small or the 35" tyres?
Alex, Still to be proven. So far no problems, will see when I really test it Off road.

Posted: 01 Dec 2013 10:10
by Rasventer
Hi Karel
Gee bietjie n update op die projek jong. Ons wag in spanning. Geniet dit