2008 Merc CL 500............."BULLET"
2006 C 180 K Manual........."SUSSIE"
En Mamma se Kar, 'n Ford
Home Language: afrikaans

98 Patrol GL - Difflock Light Intermittent Flashing

Post by petri oosthuizen »

Hi Guys!!!

As above. Got some time today, want to sort out some more small niggles

My DL light flashes intermittently, it is better now but it still starts flashing especially at highway speeds.

I'm convinced the sender unit or whatever just needs a good clean, will sommer use Electro Cleen or similar.

1) Where is this difflock and wire etc etc situated,

2) Do I just unplug and spray, is it safe(ish) to do so?

3) If the problem persists, can it be at the dial on the dashboard?

THANKS
"Fear?? Looking over at Joe Louis' corner, and knowing he wants to go home early tonight"..........Max Baer
petri oosthuizen
Full Name: oosthuizen
Nickname: petri
Home Town: bethlehem, eastern fs
Current 4x4: 1998 Patrol 4500 GRX......."OLIVE"
1997 Cruiser HZJ 75........."JACK"
En Mamma se Kar, 'n Ford

Re: 98 Patrol GL - Difflock Light Intermittent Flashing

K...…...….First of all Guys I have basically zero mechanical etc etc know-how, but this is what I've done just now, may be of help/interest to some, may even have some entertainment value

First I crawled under Greens, a mission in itself. And checked all the difflock thingies, pipes etc etc, all looks perfect there.

Pulled on that blue "plug", but gave up the battle very soon.
Attachments
20200204_110513.jpg
20200204_110513.jpg (120.38 KiB) Viewed 4210 times
"Fear?? Looking over at Joe Louis' corner, and knowing he wants to go home early tonight"..........Max Baer
petri oosthuizen
En Mamma se Kar, 'n Ford

Followed the Black Draad, and unplugged it.

Went for a spin, and (so far) the Difflock light is off. Even took a quick spin on a plaaspad, and no lights, only safety belt. But I didn't wear it, so I'm comfortable with that 1 liggie on

Looks like a dirty plug, hopefully it is.

Will use it for a couple more days and check if that light stays off.
Attachments
20200204_111344.jpg
20200204_111344.jpg (140.71 KiB) Viewed 4209 times
petri oosthuizen
En Mamma se Kar, 'n Ford

Oh yes forgot to add - If I engage DL, even with that plug removed, it definitely kicks in (the solenoid??), but why?? Or is that disconnected plug only a "telltale" one, to show if DL is activated or not (meaning, it only "works" with the dashboard DL Light).???
ricster
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Cedric Warner
Nickname: Cedric
Home Town: Alberton Gauteng
Current 4x4: '99 Nissan Patrol 4.2 Turbo Diesel
Home Language: English
Location: LA..... No not Los Angles ..... Lower Alberton, Gauteng

Post by ricster »

Hmmm... not 100% sure if what I'm going to say is correct so read it with a pinch of salt until clever people look in here....haha.

The mechanics of the diff lock work on the air vacuum ( the other little rubber pipe to the left of your photo of the goodie on the diff) so even if you unplug the wires it should in my opinion work. The wires I think are only for the dash light and overspeed chime when in low range and diff lock is engaged.

Make sure those rubber pipes are sealing properly around the steel in and out pipes both in the engine bay and on the diff. It may be holding vacuum and just not having enough to hold it in off position (I really am guessing here).

I cannot see it as being a dirty switch or plug as it should be in the off position and no current running through those wires until switched on in the cab.

My bet is a leaky pipe, even with a tiny almost unnoticeable hole in it.
Regards
Cedric
Nissan Patrol GL 4.2 Diesel Turbo (Iron Maiden)
Nissan SANI 3.0 V6 4x4 (SOLD)
Isuzu KB 280 DT 2x4 ('ol Smokey) - SOLD
Suzuki TL 1000R "V twin" (Growler) - SOLD
Peter Connan
Full Name: Peter Connan
Nickname: Piet
Home Town: Kempton Park
Current 4x4: 1996 Patrol 4.5SGL
Home Language: Afrikaans

Post by Peter Connan »

I believe the light is only a tell-tale, and that the swith only operates the light.

By the way, if the problem persists, i have been told that that switch is the reverse light switch from a 1400 bakkie.
Mag ons ons kenniskry met lekkerkry aanhoukry.
petri oosthuizen
En Mamma se Kar, 'n Ford

Thanks Guys appreciated.

The Difflock activates and disengages perfectly, so no issues there, so I think (hope) that ……….. so even if you unplug the wires it should in my opinion work. The wires I think are only for the dash light and overspeed chime when in low range and diff lock is engaged.……...this is all good :pray:

Have been using the car up and down the whole day, and that Difflock liggie stays off now (with that wire unplugged).

If I engage DL though, it clicks in, but the telltale light flickers - understandably.

I'll see if it goes on/off normally tomorrow, after I cleaned with Spanjaard and connected it again

THANKS
ricster
Patrolman 1000+

Post by ricster »

If the diff lock light flickers, then it usually means that the dog gear in not fully engaged. a little forward motion and left/right turning will usually allow the dog to slip into place properly, then the light will remain on till you disengage ( which sometimes also requires a little forward or backward motion and left /right movement to get a full disengage)
Regards
Cedric
petri oosthuizen
En Mamma se Kar, 'n Ford

ricster wrote: 05 Feb 2020 08:30 If the diff lock light flickers, then it usually means that the dog gear in not fully engaged. a little forward motion and left/right turning will usually allow the dog to slip into place properly, then the light will remain on till you disengage ( which sometimes also requires a little forward or backward motion and left /right movement to get a full disengage)
Thanks riscter, yes mine works 100% (when that plug is connected obviously). The light flickers now when I engage DL because the plug is out.

I'll use the Trol a couple more days to just make VERY sure the light stays off (with plug out), to be certain it IS the plug,and will then clean and re-connect it. I'm actually 99% sure it IS that plug now - either the plug, or then the connection at the dial (but I doubt it).

That intermittent flicker of the light was usually only at speeds above 90 or so - funny. :doh:

But ja, if this is done, everything's basically sorted, just cosmetics then (chips/marks, powdercoat wheels, etc etc).

Took the Green One for a spin on a plaaspad yesterday, just to double check that DL light (it still stayed off)..............Wat 'n bef&kte kar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sure footed, LOTS of low down torque, and AMAZING suspension setup (even in standard original form)!!!!!!!!!! :salute: :blonde: :woo: :woo: :woo:
ricster
Patrolman 1000+

Post by ricster »

hahahaha.... lekker you enjoyed your drive with it...hahaha

I also think that the switch might be a little faulty at the diff. hopefully a good clean will have it sorted out quickly
Regards
Cedric

Return to “13. Electrical & Electronics”