Full Name: Barry Guppy
Nickname: Baz
Home Town: Hibberdene
Current 4x4: 2001 Nissan Patrol 3.0 GRX
2005 Nissan Patrol 3.0 GR
Home Language: English

A few trips in Africa

Post by gupster »

This is just a brief recount of some of my trips since buying my Patrol in Belfast NI. In Nov 2010. I know its quite vague, but its main purpose is to outline a few routes I have done with a view to give members planning something similar, any help I can with my current experience.
As all my camping gear from my ’82 Range Rover was in Durban, I RoRo’d the truck here from the UK Jan 2011. Then came the task of kitting it out for an eventual trip back to the UK. Via the East coast. I did a test drive to Pemba, Mozambique and then W. across to Metangula on the shores of lake Malawi. I was soon to find out how many South Africans have ventured into all parts of Africa and have successfully started various businesses. And of course, they never lose their hospitality and willingness to help. Makes one proud to be South African.
I went S. from there crossing into Malawi from Mandimba. By this time I knew what had to changed or rearranged in the Patrol and started to head back to Durban. I stayed at Nyala campsite in Lengwe Nat park but when I left the next morning, I knew I had Malaria and so tried to make a dash to Caia in Mozambique where I knew someone there who could help me. I never took anti Malaria pills and so could tell the symptoms quickly. Last year in Ivory Coast, while now taking Mefilyn prophylactics, I got malaria again but the symptoms were so different, it was only after going to a doctor 3 weeks later in Ghana, thinking I had food poisoning, did I find out that malaria can have various symptoms. So, if when touring you guys get severe dysentery with only minor shivers, have a malaria test done. It would be interesting to hear what precautions other members do or take and what symptoms you experienced when contracting malaria.